The Royal Commission into Violence, Abuse, Neglect and Exploitation of People with Disability was established on 4 April 2019.


The Hon Ronald Sackville AO QC has been appointed as Chair of the Royal Commission. Mr Sackville will be supported by six other Royal Commissioners:

  • The Hon Roslyn Atkinson AO

  • Ms Barbara Bennett PSM

  • Dr Rhonda Galbally AC

  • Ms Andrea Mason OAM

  • Alastair McEwin AM

  • The Hon John Ryan AM


The Governor-General issued Letters Patent which formally appoint the Royal Commissioners and outline the Terms of Reference for this inquiry.


The Commissioners are required to provide an interim report no later than 30 October 2020, and a final report by no later than 29 April 2022.

TDERL will update this page with information, fact sheets and FAQ's as they are developed.  You can access the Disability Royal Commissions website at

Information Developed by the Australian Coalition for Inclusive Education

Tasmania Disability Education Reform Lobby advocates for real change to the Tasmanian Education system to ensure that all students living with disability receive appropriate support at school.

  • Facebook Basic Black
Please reload

© 2015 by the Tasmania Disability Education Reform Lobby